The Shadow Thieves (Chronus Chronicles #1)

Title: The Shadow Thieves

Author: Anne Ursu

Series: The Chronus Chronicles #1

Charlotte Mielswetzski wants to get out of her ordinary life. When her cousin comes over from England, when the kids at her school start getting sick, when the Greek legends she’s been studying suddenly become uncomfortably real . . . now she’s on an adventure.

I’m a little burned out by the many stories that retell Greek myths, but this one isn’t so bad. It focuses mostly on the Underworld, where one half-demon is plotting to overthrow Hades, and how his machinations draw both Charlotte and her cousin Zee into that scheme.

The storytelling voice talks directly to the reader, which makes me think it might be better as an audiobook, because it has the feel of someone reading a story to someone else. That made it hard for me to get lost in, because the voice kept reminding me I was reading.

I liked Charlotte, who is smart enough to see through a lot of the usual drama of her classmates, but who inadvertently sidelines herself from fitting in or making friends. Zee has some of that same perspective, though his willingness to go out and play soccer/football and to be friendly to people means he’s not quite as much of an outcast.

This was an okay read. I didn’t have any problems with it, though it isn’t going to be a favorite. I did have to roll my eyes at Hades’s decision at the end, because clearly he left a lot of room for future trouble. I rate this book Recommended.

Leave a Reply

