Swarm (Zeroes #2)

Title: Swarm

Author: Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti

Series: Zeroes #2

Ethan and the rest of the Zeros have started testing how far their powers will stretch—in the guise of a nightclub (illegal, of course). But when the unexpected addition of MORE people with powers sends it crashing around their ears, they realize they’re not alone, and not everyone is interested in keeping quiet . . .

I tried, but ended up picking up the book for a chapter or two, putting it down again, and eventually quit when I realized I was actively reading other books to avoid going back to this one. It’s not bad, but the whole “nobody is really all that great, just different shades of horrible” started to grate on me worse and worse, and when people I would’ve really liked to see killed off weren’t (or at least, not by the time I quit), I figured it wasn’t worth pushing through what was becoming a slog. I put it down around halfway.

If you liked the first book, you may not be as put off by that as I was. The writing is fairly solid, and everyone’s trying to advance their powers (or in Ethan’s case, using what he’s been given . . . putting him as a recruiter did make me laugh).

Again, I dislike this for tone and the fact that nobody’s really anyone I want to root for rather than for poor writing. Your mileage may vary, but I’m done with this series. I rate this book Neutral.

Leave a Reply

