Magic Moon (Magic Moon #1)

Title: Magic Moon

Author: Wolfgang  & Heike Hohlbein

Series: Magic Moon #1

Kim prefers science fiction to real life, but even he can’t imagine the real cause of his little sister’s inexplicable coma. When he’s invited to the world of Magic Moon, where his sister used to play until her illness, he has a chance to save her—and that world. But Boreas and the Realm of Shadows want him, too. He sees Kim as his opportunity to finally bring all of Magic Moon under the reign of evil . . .

This was an unexpected surprise. The alternate world of Magic Moon isn’t always sketched out fully, but what we do see is a world that feels born of myth and magic. I liked the characters, especially some of the side characters like Tak (all the Taks, haha), Kelhim, and Rangarig. Dragons that can knock buildings down if they laugh too hard amuse me. And the Rainbow King. My favorite line from him: “Another one of your human superstitions. I am immortal. Why should I run around looking like a frail old man when I can choose any age I please?”

Although I disagree heartily with much of the philosophy, I did like the twist near the end (though, not the one that rendered everyone’s deaths pointless, as that was a little too much cheating). The Black Lord and his connection to Boreas was nicely played, and how Kim ends up fighting them was the last thing I expected.

I did think Magic Moon’s attitude towards death in general misses the point. Yes, it happens to everyone, but acting as though the mere memory of the person is just as good as having the person with you ignores the fact that death is the final separation. That’s why people grieve: the only thing that remains for the living are memories. So it was an interesting speculation, but ultimately one I found too hard to swallow.

All in all this is an interesting little book, but given that it was published by Tokyopop (who went out of business several years ago) and has a cover that doesn’t hint very well what type of story it is, I don’t imagine too many people are going to find it these days. I rate this book Recommended.

Leave a Reply

