Hold Me Closer, Necromancer (Necromancer #1)

Title: Hold Me Closer, Necromancer

Author: Lish McBride

Sam is a college dropout with a job at a fast food joint in Seattle. Then he runs into Douglas Montgomery, a rich and utterly ruthless man who seems convinced Sam is, like himself, a necromancer. Sam has one week to agree to be Douglas’s apprentice or Sam and everyone he loves will become targets.

I suppose I thought this was going to be a romance-focused paranormal, which is why I initially overlooked it. Big mistake.

Sam is wry, funny, and interacts with friends just as zany as he is. From the opening scene at work, where he and the other longer-term employees are trying to dispirit the new guy to the final lines of the book I hardly stopped laughing. The constant humor highlights the grim situation Sam finds himself in, but even the worst situations still  turn out funny, or have a lot of laughs along the way. As he puts it, “I guess life-threatening situations bring out my inner smart-ass.”

The narrative switches between first-person for Sam and third-person to follow other characters. This works well, and allows for a much deeper look into Douglas’s thoughts or Brid’s situation before Sam runs into her. And the chapter titles are drawn from song lyrics, which gives an amusing soundtrack to the events of the book (at least for those songs I could identify, which was most of them).

I also liked the way the world is set up. The powers of a necromancer include the obvious, of course, but they aren’t only so narrowly defined. And Sam is just scratching the surface of what he’s able to do now. Nor is Sam the only unusual person in Seattle. We have the expected vampires and werewolves and witches, but also satyrs and bits of Faerie. None of which tend to like necromancers very much.

I stayed up too late reading this, because I couldn’t put it down. And I was laughing too hard to want to stop. I hope there are many, many more adventures in this world, because the ending implies it’s only getting crazier from here on out. I rate this book Highly Recommended.

Leave a Reply

